Leave a request
All request are processed in 24 hours. Please, leave your contacts so we can get in touch.
This website uses cookies. Please provide your consent. You can disable cookies in your browser settings at any time.
I agree
Close
How Power Metrics enabled quick monthly competitive analysis of 33 Brands
Our client
One of the largest FMCG companies that works with pastry and confectionery, among other categories. We’ve been working with a client's subsidiary
for over 3 years, so we landed this project based on internal endorsement.
Client objective
In August 2020, our client’s digital team leadership saw a change. New leader requested Convergent to deliver competitive analysis research to assess quickly current market situation and to update the marketing strategy.
Our client

One of the largest FMCG companies that works with pastry and confectionery, among other categories. We’ve been working with a client's subsidiary for over 3 years, so we landed this project based on internal endorsement.

Client objective

In August 2020, our client’s digital team leadership saw a change. New leader requested Convergent to deliver competitive analysis research to assess quickly current market situation and to update the marketing strategy.
Data Collection
Data Collection
We were collecting data (both quantitative and qualitative)
for four digital channels. We also monitored the client brands
to be able to assess their visibility on the market.
We were collecting data (both quantitative and qualitative) for four digital channels. We also monitored the client brands to be able to assess their visibility on the market.
No precise data on competitors’ traffic
There are a number of services that allow you to assess the competitors’ traffic. But none of them yields any precise data due to the lack of direct access to the branded websites, mining of the data from third-party sources or simply forecasting based on competitors’ activities.

However, we did have all the precise data for the client’s brands.

For monitoring, we compared data only from open sources for competitor and client brands. Thus, we were able to assess all the brands with the same degree of precision,
and the client received a comparable outlook on his brands’ digital activity on the market.
No precise data on competitors’ traffic

There are a number of services that allow you to assess the competitors’ traffic. But none of them yields any precise data due to the lack of direct access to the branded websites, mining of the data from third-party sources or simply forecasting based on competitors’ activities.

However, we did have all the precise data for the client’s brands.

For monitoring, we compared data only from open sources for competitor and client brands. Thus, we were able to assess all the brands with the same degree of precision, and the client received a comparable outlook on his brands’ digital activity on the market.
Power Metrics
Power Metrics
We used over 15 metrics to monitor the data, and each metric was measured in different units. To get a unified scale of comparison, we invented a power metric to measure the state of competition in the product categories and to visualize all brands’ digital activity at a single glance.
The power metric is based on the scale method: each indicator is evaluated on a scale from 0 to 5. Ranging competitors’ activities, we could compare different presence channels’ efficiency within the framework of the brands’ digital strategies.

Our formula reflects indicators and current industry benchmarks. For instance, online and offline promotion is more significant for FMCG than active social media accounts.
We used over 15 metrics to monitor the data, and each metric was measured in different units. To get a unified scale of comparison, we invented a power metric to measure the state of competition in the product categories and to visualize all brands’ digital activity at a single glance.

The power metric is based on the scale method: each indicator is evaluated on a scale from 0 to 5. Ranging competitors’ activities, we could compare different presence channels’ efficiency within the framework of the brands’ digital strategies.

Our formula reflects indicators and current industry benchmarks. For instance, online and offline promotion is more significant for FMCG than active social media accounts.
Result
Result
The monitoring project went on for five months, between August and December 2020. We prepared five detailed reports on all the competitors in the industry. The power metrics allowed us to present the evolution of competition in three charts, providing an instant insight into the digital presence of the brands.
The monitoring project went on for five months, between August and December 2020. We prepared five detailed reports on all the competitors in the industry. The power metrics allowed us to present the evolution of competition in three charts, providing an instant insight into the digital presence of the brands.
Chart 1

Digital activities assessment: evaluating
all the brands’ dynamics over several months
This chart represents the brand’s overall activity in digital, over a certain period of time.
Chart 1

Digital activities assessment: evaluating all the brands’ dynamics over several months
This chart represents the brand’s overall activity in digital, over a certain period of time.
Chart 2

Overall assessment of digital activities
in a brand category in August 2020
It represents the activities of the brands by frequency of choice.
Chart 2

Overall assessment of digital activities in a brand category in August 2020
It represents the activities of the brands by frequency of choice.
Chart 3

Overall assessment of digital activities
in a brand category over several months
Chart 3

Overall assessment of digital activities in a brand category over several months
Apart from that, the report included the following:
Apart from that, the report included the following:
1
Summary on each
of the following categories:
  • Cookies
  • Chewing gum and lollipops
  • Candy
  • Chocolate candy
  • Chocolate
  • Candy bars
  • Other
2
Detailed qualitative research of each category
3
Detailed qualitative research of each brand
1
Summary on each
of the following categories:
  • Cookies
  • Chewing gum and lollipops
  • Candy
  • Chocolate candy
  • Chocolate
  • Candy bars
  • Other
2
Detailed qualitative research of each
category
3
Detailed qualitative research of each
brand
Results
Results
This detailed competitor research gave the client insight into the main trends on the confectionary market. The power metric allowed us to compare the behavior of given brands and to evaluate their digital activities in different aspects.
Competitors’ activity monitoring helped the client reach their major goal: quick dive-in to the market and overview of realistic outlook of brands activities in digital. The speed and accuracy of the state of the market data were two major gains in adjusting the client's marketing strategy.
This detailed competitor research gave the client insight into the main trends on the confectionary market. The power metric allowed us to compare the behavior of given brands and to evaluate their digital activities in different aspects.
Competitors’ activity monitoring helped the client reach their major goal: quick dive-in to the market and overview of realistic outlook of brands activities in digital. The speed and accuracy of the state of the market data were two major gains in adjusting the client's marketing strategy.

Do you have a similar task?
© 2001–2022 Convergent
All rights reserved
Contacts

Оставьте заявку
Заявки обрабатываются в течение 24 часов. Пожалуйста, укажите контактные данные, по которым вам удобнее получить оперативную обратную связь.
На этом веб-сайте используются файлы cookie. Просим предоставить ваше согласие. Вы можете отключить файлы cookie в настройках вашего браузера в любое время.
OK
Как power-метрика позволила анализировать 33 бренда каждый месяц
О клиенте
Одна из крупнейших FMCG-компаний, которая, в том числе, занимается кондитерскими изделиями. Мы более трёх лет работаем с другим подразделением клиента — и этот проект получили благодаря внутренней рекомендации.
Наша задача
В августе 2020 года диджитал-команду подразделения возглавил новый руководитель. Чтобы оценить текущую ситуацию на рынке и выстроить маркетинговую стратегию бизнеса, топ-менеджер запросил у нас подробный мониторинг конкурентов.
О клиенте

Одна из крупнейших FMCG-компаний, которая, в том числе, занимается кондитерскими изделиями. Мы более трёх лет работаем с другим подразделением клиента — и этот проект получили благодаря внутренней рекомендации.


Наша задача

В августе 2020 года диджитал-команду подразделения возглавил новый руководитель. Чтобы оценить текущую ситуацию на рынке и выстроить маркетинговую стратегию бизнеса, топ-менеджер запросил у нас подробный мониторинг конкурентов.


Мониторинг длился пять месяцев, с августа по декабрь 2020 года.
Сбор данных
Сбор данных
Сбор данных шёл по 4 основным диджитал-направлениям. Мы собирали одновременно количественные и качественные показатели. Также включали в мониторинг бренды самой компании, чтобы оценивать их видимое присутствие на рынке.
Сбор данных шёл по 4 основным диджитал-направлениям. Мы собирали одновременно количественные и качественные показатели. Также включали в мониторинг бренды самой компании, чтобы оценивать их видимое присутствие на рынке.
Отсутствие точных данных по трафику конкурентов
Есть ряд сервисов для оценки трафика конкурентов, но все они дают приблизительные данные, так как сервисы в большинстве случаев не имеют доступа к сайтам напрямую, а получают данные из третьих источников или действуют на основании прогнозов.

При этом по брендам самого клиента у нас были все точные данные.

Для конкурентного анализа было решено использовать только данные из открытых источников. Так все бренды оценивались с одинаковой точностью, к тому же клиент мог получить представление о том, как диджитал-активности собственных брендов выглядят на рынке.
Отсутствие точных данных по трафику конкурентов

Есть ряд сервисов для оценки трафика конкурентов, но все они дают приблизительные данные, так как сервисы в большинстве случаев не имеют доступа к сайтам напрямую, а получают данные из третьих источников или действуют на основании прогнозов.

При этом по брендам самого клиента у нас были все точные данные.

Для конкурентного анализа было решено использовать только данные из открытых источников. Так все бренды оценивались с одинаковой точностью, к тому же клиент мог получить представление о том, как диджитал-активности собственных брендов выглядят на рынке.
Power-метрика
Power-метрика
Для мониторинга использовалось более 15 метрик, каждая из которых измерялась в разных величинах. Чтобы нагляднее сравнивать диджитал-активность брендов в целом, мы ввели power-метрику.
Метрика основана на методе шкал: для каждого показателя в мониторинге активности конкурентов мы разработали балльную систему. Выставляя оценки от 0 до 5, мы могли сравнивать разные каналы присутствия по их эффективности внутри диджитал-стратегии брендов.

Вес каждого показателя рассчитывается в соответствии с бенчмарками отрасли. Так, онлайн- и офлайн-промо важнее для FMCG-сегмента, чем активные аккаунты в социальных сетях.
Для мониторинга использовалось более 15 метрик, каждая из которых измерялась в разных величинах. Чтобы нагляднее сравнивать диджитал-активность брендов в целом, мы ввели power-метрику.

Метрика основана на методе шкал: для каждого показателя в мониторинге активности конкурентов мы разработали балльную систему. Выставляя оценки от 0 до 5, мы могли сравнивать разные каналы присутствия по их эффективности внутри диджитал-стратегии брендов.

Вес каждого показателя рассчитывается в соответствии с бенчмарками отрасли. Так, онлайн- и офлайн-промо важнее для FMCG-сегмента, чем активные аккаунты в социальных сетях.
Результат
Результат
Мониторинг длился пять месяцев, с августа по декабрь 2020 года. Мы подготовили пять подробных отчётов по всем конкурентам отрасли. Power-метрика позволила нам представить результаты объемного и подробного отчёта на трёх графиках, которые позволяли быстро оценить ситуацию с диджитал-присутствием брендов.
Мониторинг длился пять месяцев, с августа по декабрь 2020 года. Мы подготовили пять подробных отчётов по всем конкурентам отрасли. Power-метрика позволила нам представить результаты объемного и подробного отчёта на трёх графиках, которые позволяли быстро оценить ситуацию с диджитал-присутствием брендов.
ГРАФИК 1

Оценка диджитал-активности по всем брендам в динамике за несколько месяцев
Этот график позволяет отследить общую активность бренда в диджитал
и распределение её во времени.
ГРАФИК 1

Оценка диджитал-активности по всем брендам в динамике за несколько месяцев
Этот график позволяет отследить общую активность бренда в диджитал
и распределение её во времени.
ГРАФИК 2

Сводная оценка диджитал-активности
по брендам категории за август 2020
Свод помогает отследить, какие активности вообще популярны у брендов и какие активности выбирает каждый бренд в частности.
ГРАФИК 2

Сводная оценка диджитал-активности по брендам категории за август 2020
Свод помогает отследить, какие активности вообще популярны у брендов и какие активности выбирает каждый бренд в частности.
ГРАФИК 3

Сводная оценка диджитал-активности
по брендам категории за несколько месяцев
ГРАФИК 3

Сводная оценка диджитал-активности по брендам категории за несколько месяцев
Кроме этого, в отчёт входили:
Кроме этого, в отчёт входили:
1
Краткие выводы
по категориям:
  • Печенье
  • Жвачка и леденцы
  • Конфеты
  • Шоколад
  • Шоколадные конфеты
  • Шоколадные батончики
  • Другие
2
Подробный качественный анализ по каждой категории
3
Подробный качественный анализ по брендам
1
Краткие выводы
по категориям:
  • Печенье
  • Жвачка и леденцы
  • Конфеты
  • Шоколад
  • Шоколадные конфеты
  • Шоколадные батончики
  • Другие
2
Подробный качественный анализ по каждой категории
3
Подробный качественный анализ по брендам
Итоги
Итоги
Подробный конкурентный анализ помог понять основные тенденции на рынке кондитерских изделий, а power-метрика — сравнить поведение конкретных брендов и оценить их диджитал-активность по разным направлениям
Мониторинг активности конкурентов достиг своей основной цели — погрузил команду проекта в новый для них рынок и позволил также оценить видимую результативность собственных брендов клиента для дальнейшей корректировки маркетинговой стратегии бизнеса
Подробный конкурентный анализ помог понять основные тенденции на рынке кондитерских изделий, а power-метрика — сравнить поведение конкретных брендов и оценить их диджитал-активность по разным направлениям
Мониторинг активности конкурентов достиг своей основной цели — погрузил команду проекта в новый для них рынок и позволил также оценить видимую результативность собственных брендов клиента для дальнейшей корректировки маркетинговой стратегии бизнеса

У вас есть похожие задачи?
Напишите нам!